Assistance with 75 Gallon Planted

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

smn723

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hello all, I'm pretty new to the planted aquarium. I was just looking for helpful suggestions on various items such as filtration, lighting, water movement, etc. I have decided I will probably be purchasing 140 lbs. of Eco-Complete. I do have a Rena Filtstar XP2 laying around but wish to keep it for my 55 gallon. What do people perfer for filtration in similar setups? What kind of lighting is preferred? I eventually plan to have a fully automatic c02 system so was thinking of getting a 4 lamp HO T5 fixture. Was thinking of simply running 3 50/50s (or 2 50/50s and an actinic for a nice blue hue) and a 6500k for starting out and then adding 6500ks as I got the c02 up and running. Does this sound alright or too much for a 75 gallon? Any other necessary components I need to be thinking of? Powerheads? All help is greatly appreciated as,like I said, I am new to planted aquariums and have cruised this site enough to know that are a lot of knowledgable people .

Thanks in advance

Shawn

I'm not familiar with HO. How many watts is that? PC bulbs seem to be the most popular - but HO should work just as well.

Canister filters seem to be the filter of choice for planted tanks. Personally, I like to buy a filter rated at double my tank size - but that is just me.

Power heads are not terribly important. I like your substrate choice and amount.

Personally, I think you are better off waiting to get the plants until your CO2 arrives. Then you won't need to spend money on actinic bulbs and low light plants.

What are your fertilizer plans? With a lot of research, you can skip some of the "begineer problems." With fertilizing, it is a very good idea to have a very specific plan, be consistent, and carefully modify the plan as needed.