basic planted tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

swmmnglessons

Aquarium Advice Regular
Can somebody give me just some general/basic info on starting up a planted tank. I have a 5 1/2 gal just sitting around and would like to do something with it. General answers to the following would be helpful:

- Are the necessary water perameters the same as for fish? Can you just throw some plain old water in? Any special temp?

- Type of gravel?

- Just plant them and go?

- Filter needed since tank is so small?

Thanks guys!

Geez, making me earn my keep, aren't ya?

swmmnglessons said:
- Are the necessary water perameters the same as for fish? Can you just throw some plain old water in? Any special temp?

- Type of gravel?

- Just plant them and go?

- Filter needed since tank is so small?

Thanks guys!

OK, I'll give this a shot, but remeber I'm new to the plant tank too!!

Water parameters, pretty much the same.

Many options with gravel, But seachem makes Flourite, which is supposed to be an excellent pant tank substrate, I'm currently using it, so far so good. Nothing that will raise the hardness of your water, thats for sure.

Filter, something small, like an aquaclear mini would be fine. Heck, a 5 gallon you might not need one at all, be interesting ot try it that way.

LIGHTS!! You need 2-5 watts of light per gallon, I believe this to be extremely important, because with less light your plants wont thrive, and may not even survive. Some people have great luck with sunny window spots, but my situation has not allowed me to try it.

Good luck, let us know how it goes!

Hi. Just to add a few things to what corvuscorax said. The Flourite is very good. We have been using it about 1 year now without any problems.
Make your gravel bed at least 2.5 inches deep for the plant roots.