Beginner Question on Planted tanks

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TheKraken

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello Everyone,

Beginner here and I had a few questions in regards to planted tanks.

1. I have a sand substrate in my 10 gallon tank. Can plants still thrive in sand? Obviously they can get uprooted easily but wasnt sure if a sand substrate was ok for plant growth.

2. Dont know how familiar you are with the top fin 10 gallon beginners aquarium, but i have read the lights that come with it arent the best for plant growth (came with two tiny bulbs, one on each side of the cover). I went out and bought a 20 inch Aqueon Single Tube Strip Light which includes an 18 inch "Aquarium Spectrum Flourescent Lamp" Will this do the trick for the plants? I didnt notice the Aqueon box saying anywhere that it "provides day light".

3. I bought some Leaf Zone plant food. Is it worth buying or does it really help with plant growth?

I dont remember what the plants I have are called, however i am going to the pet store later today to pick up some stuff and was going to write down their names if you needed to know specifics. Ive attached a pic of my tank, sorry if its kind of blurry, had to use my web cam as my camera has been currently misplaced. You may be able to identify what i have in there. The only thing i know the name of is the moss ball.

Thanks for your help!

Attachments

• Picture0008.jpg
    Picture0008.jpg
    37.7 KB · Views: 102
1. I have a sand substrate in my 10 gallon tank. Can plants still thrive in sand? Obviously they can get uprooted easily but wasnt sure if a sand substrate was ok for plant growth. Yes the plants will be fine in sand.