Betta planted 15g suggestions?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

lexiesboots

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi everyone!

I am tossing around the idea of setting up my 15 gallon tank for a Betta and possibly a Nerite snail. I want to make it a planted tank and was wondering some plant suggestions? I am still pretty new to live plants but plan on using a substrate and investing in a good light. Any preferences to plants, substrates, and lights?

Thanks!

Hi Lex.. For substrate that's pretty straight forward and wouldnt break the bank, you can consider getting either Floramax, Eco-Complete, or Fluorite. Sand is also okay for plants, although IMO, not as good as the ones listed.

For a beginner planted tank, I'd recommend some easy low light tolerant plants such as java fern, anubias, crypts, java moss, and swords just to name a few. If you want plants more challenging, you'll have to consider using a moderate to high light fixture plus injecting co2.

What's your budget on a light fixture? And what are the dimensions of your tank?

Brian_Nano12g said:
Hi Lex.. For substrate that's pretty straight forward and wouldnt break the bank, you can consider getting either Floramax, Eco-Complete, or Fluorite. Sand is also okay for plants, although IMO, not as good as the ones listed.

For a beginner planted tank, I'd recommend some easy low light tolerant plants such as java fern, anubias, crypts, java moss, and swords just to name a few. If you want plants more challenging, you'll have to consider using a moderate to high light fixture plus injecting co2.

What's your budget on a light fixture? And what are the dimensions of your tank?