Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-12-2004, 10:13 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Or
Posts: 347
Send a message via MSN to lreilly
C02 and bio wheels

I read that the bio wheels will diminish the efforts of a C02 injector. Is this true and is there a way to avoid it? I have 55 gal with an emperor 400 with dual bio wheels. I want to add a C02 injector for all of my plants is there any way to stop it from being cancled out?

__________________
lreilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2004, 10:27 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,444
Yeah it will as they splash the water around quite a bit. This will drive off the added CO2. You really need to think about switching to a canister filter fisrt before adding CO2, IMO.

How much light does your tank have?
__________________
tkos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2004, 11:01 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Or
Posts: 347
Send a message via MSN to lreilly
I have two 22w lights. Which I know is too low but it is next to a sliding glass window. Which I know is a no no but it is not in direct sun light, just a super bright room. Which my plants really like, and have never had any problems. I just all way hear how much better the growth with the C02. I think that I will keep it how I have it for now. Thanks
__________________
lreilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2004, 11:28 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,444
CO2 is really only good once you start getting good solid 3 wpg or higher for 10-12 hours a day. With the low light you currently have CO2 will probably lead to algae growth more than extra plant growth. I would consider upgrading that light to a minimum of 2 wpg before even thinking about CO2. So 110 watts instead or 44. Big difference.
__________________
tkos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2004, 11:34 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Or
Posts: 347
Send a message via MSN to lreilly
I figured I would up grade it all at once. No sense of slowly draining my finances I prefer the shock and ah method.
__________________
lreilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2004, 01:34 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: cincinnati
Posts: 805
Send a message via AIM to Mr Burns
*awe
__________________
"If this were a dictatorship, it'd be a heck of a lot easier...just as long as I'm the dictator..."
--George W. Bush, Washington, DC, Dec 18, 2000
Mr Burns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2004, 01:45 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Or
Posts: 347
Send a message via MSN to lreilly
I knew that.
__________________
lreilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2004, 09:44 PM   #8
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I run Bio-Wheels on a couple of my tanks. You just have to increase the CO2 injection rate to compensate for the loss. I would guesstimate that I use about 2X as much CO2 as I would without the Bio-Wheels. But then again I like the Bio-Wheels and they do a fine job of oxygenating the water.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2004, 10:07 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Or
Posts: 347
Send a message via MSN to lreilly
Has it been worth the extra effort? As far as growth and health. I just got the new filter and really like it. I would like to plant my big tank but will move them to my other one with out a bio wheel if need be. Do you use a pre-manufactured C02 injector or a DIY. I would not mind putting more energy into doing it right. Because one tank is going to end up with plants.
__________________
lreilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2004, 11:40 PM   #10
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I have a pressurized system with a DIY reactor. You can see pictures of my reactor on my FAQ page.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2004, 01:18 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Gallatin TN
Posts: 15
My biowheel was nothing more than a haven for algae. I ditched the wheel, and left the filter with just floss. No more algae outbreaks and my plants took off.
__________________
cashman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2004, 01:59 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,444
Try growing the plants without the CO2 at first if you liek the biowheel. Then later if you think you want or need more growth then add the CO2 unit. At least that is the way I would go and have. I think my plant growth is sufficient for my 10 gallon with 2.8 watts of light without the CO2 for now. Probably if I get a bigger tank then I will add CO2.
__________________
tkos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bio, eel, eels

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bio wheels fishman Saltwater Reef Aquaria 12 11-04-2006 06:26 PM
bio wheels flame82 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 05-24-2005 07:56 AM
BIO Wheels? Noxious020189 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 15 02-06-2005 04:50 PM
Bio wheels Lindsikins00 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 11-16-2004 10:05 AM
Bio wheels or no wheels? MANSTER Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 05-24-2004 05:44 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.