Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 02-24-2011, 07:08 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Question C02 vs Fish

Hi,

Plant Noob here.

I was just wondering how you go about ensuring there is a good distribution of C02 vs. Oxygen for the fish? For example, I read that the main culprit for the dissipation of C02 is disturbing the surface of the water. The air stones obviously create a lot of disturbance and I am wondering about finding a happy medium.

I thought about turning off the air stones during the day and then at night when I kill the lights, I'd turn the air stones back on. From what I understand the plants basically stop eating when the lights are off and that it would make more sense to pump oxygen at night to keep the C02 levels from getting too high?

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-141246-3.html

Above link is my current tank. The C02 canister setup I purchased was one of the small fermentation ones designed for 20 gallon tanks.

Old 02-24-2011, 07:14 PM   #2
Dividing by 0
Community Admin

POTM Champion

It sounds like you have a pretty good understanding of CO2...

You do not want to run air during the day, as it will off gas the CO2 that you want to stay in the water for uptake by your plants. It is a great idea to have the air stone running at night after the lights go off.