Cheap but effectively lighting for a planted aquarium

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

electromango

Aquarium Advice Regular
What are some inexpensive aquarium lights that are effective at growing low and medium light intensity plants (but also look good and bring out fish colors) that you guys use? I currently have an LED kit that came with marineland 29 gallon kit but I've heard it's inadequate.

It's dimensions are 30 x 12 x 18 inches, the hood is 30 x12 inches. Thanks.

What's your budget?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app

I'm new to planted tanks so I'm not exactly sure of the price ranges, so I don't have a "budget", just looking for affordable yet effective lights. Also, I don't know how to install the lights on my hood so I'm literally completely new. Just any suggestions and advice would be great. I heard Finnex planted+ is great but it's sort of pricey and doesn't seem to have a lot of watts.

Finnex planted plus and a glass top is the best you're going to do for med. Light plants.

Finnex planted plus and a glass top is the best you're going to do for med. Light plants.

Ok I'll look into that further. What do you mean by a glass top?

You wont be able to use that cheap plastic lid the kit came with while using an aftermarket plant light. So you have to decide if you're going to want it covered (then get a glass lid) or uncovered then no lid required.

Also drop the Watts per Gallon rule, you should be looking at PAR ratings. Watts was an old style of thinking back in the day and does not apply to LED. PAR is how strong the light is when it reaches the bottom of the tank. 0-30 PAR would be around low light category, 30-55 would be about medium, 55+ would be high lighting.

More experienced people please correct me if I am wrong.

Ok guys I have a few questions: