Choosing a substrate.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Bosk

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Greetings,

I'm a newbie fishkeeper who would like to set his 8 gallon bowfront tank up as a heavily planted 'aquascape'.

Right now i'm in the 'planning stage' and have come to the decision of which substrate to choose.

I have Onyx Sand, Flourite and Play Sand to choose from.

Pool Sand is by far the cheapest, and I *much* prefer it's look to the others, but I know that it won't contain anything to help my plants.

Onyx Sand I can get for 7x the price of Play Sand and I prefer it's looks to Flourite.

Flourite I can get for 9x the price of Play Sand and I think it looks awful, but have read that it's the best choice purely for growing potential.

In the end I might buy Pool Sand (because it's cheap) and one of the others and try mixing them or keeping one as a backup in case I change my mind about which to go with.
I would really appreciate any opinions from the experts here though so please feel free to help me make up my mind :)

EDIT: just in case it's relevant to which substrate I should pick, I'll be using 20 watts of fluro lighting and some kind of DIY or cheapie-commercial CO2 kit.

i'm no expert in any way...but i do love to give advice... :roll: ..
an 8g might have too small a height for you to work with...
as i forsee it, as you get your tank going with good lighting, co2 and a good substrate (even play sand)...you are going to have a tough time pruning stem plants...unless you choose all slow-growers...
aargh...enough babbling... :lol:

coming back to the main issue...i was reading about amano setting up a tank in US during one of his visits...and he used black onyx sand as the substrate...and he chose from a whole bunch of them... :) ...