Chuck's Planted Aquarium Calculator

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Dominick

Aquarium Advice Activist
Ok im new to this thing but if i put in
.75 KN03
and
.75 K2S04

they dont come out the same in grams

now i dont know about you but .75 in eather one should be
the same in grams on both right?

Don't take it wrong but it is basic chemistry. The molecular weight of the atoms is a lot different in the two compounds so each will have different amounts of K in them. Also, due to the molecular weight, .75 tsp of each will weigh different. Kind of like a tsp of lead or a tsp of salt. And don't feel bad, I looked at them when i got them and thought they all look like salts and was just as confused.

If you tell us what the .75 measurement is in we can give you more accurate conversions, from your question I assume it is .75 tsp.

I'm a little usnure about what you mean. If I am guessing correctly you are comparing .75 teaspoons of KNO3 and .75 teaspons of K2SO4. Is that correct? The difference here is that they do not have the same density.

ahhh did not know that kool and all thats all out of my league
tho i am learning all that i can
anyways

i did the first conversion myself
+/- 3/4 tsp KN03 3x a week .75
+/- 3/16 tsp KH2P04 3x a week .19
+/- 1/4 tsp K2S04 3x a week .25
+/- ¼ tsp (15ml) Trace 3x a week .25

let me know if anything is wrong i like to know how to correct my mistakes

Just so others in here know what the tank size is, what is the tank size? I thinkI know from other threads, but for others to help, it's a valuable piece of info.

So that would be dosing as follows:
KNO3 - 8.2ppm 3x weekly
KH2PO4 - 2.4ppm 3x weekly
K2SO4 - 2.2ppm 3x weekly
I'm not good with traces calcs, will let someone else check that.....