Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-14-2006, 11:04 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2
CO2 Generator

I recently purchased a JBL CO2 Set Model "easy 1".

It is indeed easy to set up, but my problem is with the continuous CO2 / pH tester supplied. This unit comprises a small plastic thimble that is half -filled with aquarium water (fresh), with a reagent then being added.

This thimble is then inverted, and immersed in the aquarium. I assume that the CO2 in the aquarium water is supposed to enter the thimble from below, and react with the water/reagent to change the colour.

The colour change that I'm getting indicates a high pH (which is actually neutral as verified using my test kit) and a high CO2 (which I cannot verify), but I've only got the gas flow set very low.

Does anyone have experience with the accuracy of these JBL permanent CO2 / pH testers? Is there anyparticular location within the Aquarium (an Aqua-One AR620T) where I should place it?

Thanks - Neal
__________________

__________________
Neal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2006, 12:21 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
An t-iasg's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Criders Corners, PA
Posts: 9,889
Moved to the Planted Tank forum.

I have never seen this particular CO2 generator-pH tester. Hopefully someone else has!

If you have a KH (carbonate hardness) test kit along with your pH test kit, you can calculate your CO2 level. Plug the pH and KH values into this calculator: (about halfway down the page)

http://www.csd.net/~cgadd/aqua/art_plant_co2chart.htm

I know this doesn't answer your setup question but it may be helpful to verify your CO2 level.
__________________

__________________







An t-iasg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2006, 01:17 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2
CO2 Generator

Thanks for moving my post to the Plant Forum, and also for the link to the article and the on-line calculator. The JBL brand generator (www.jbl.de) purchased in Australia is supplied with the in-tank continuous tester.

Thanks again.

- Neal -
__________________
Neal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
co2, generator

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY CO2 generator JPKeenan General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 17 08-23-2009 10:15 PM
Need Help on DIY Co2 generator atticus27 DIY Projects 8 03-02-2009 07:03 PM
DIY CO2 Generator & Reactor Alshain DIY Projects 4 09-08-2006 12:39 PM
How long does DIY CO2 generator take to start chrisethompson Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 24 09-17-2004 11:14 AM
carbon to control acidity of DIY CO2 generator? rabbit General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 11-14-2003 09:20 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.