CO2 help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jdenon42

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi everyone, I'm new to the forum. I've been in and out of the hobby for about 25 yrs. My son inspired me to get back into it. I forgot how addicting it is...I'm not complaining.? I've just set up an all new 65gal column tank. I'm running a DIY canister filter, as well as a DIY in tank filter. Also I'm running CO2 injection and I'm dosing 2 bps. Injection comes on with the lights and goes off with the lights. Lights are on for 9hrs/day. My substrate is FloraMax. This is my first attempt at live plants, and I'm a little discouraged with the results of my plant growth. I also use Seachem Flourish and API root tabs, both according to their instructions. I've been running the injection for almost 2 weeks, but haven't noticed anything spectacular going on with my plants.
Any advice is greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance to everyone.

Sent from my LG-D959 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Hello.. welcome back to the hobby! :)

First off, we need to determine your light level. What type of fixture, bulbs, etc. are you running? Also, how tall is that tank from light to substrate? And, lastly... what plant species are in there?

Edit:
You should also get a drop checker to make sure you're getting an adequate amount of CO2 dissolved within the water column. Unless you're using a pH controller?

Last edited:
Thanks Brian.
My drop checker is showing 2 bps. My light is a 25w full spectrum fluorescent and the distance from substrate to light is 22". I'm unsure of a couple of the plant species. I do know there is 1 Amazon Sword, 1 Brazilian Sword, some Dwarf Hairgrass and some Wisteria. There are a couple I can't remember the names of. ?

Sent from my LG-D959 using Aquarium Advice mobile app