CO2 Working Pressure Fluctuating

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

DeirdreHoyle

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Hello,
I am fairly new to running co2 in my tank, I've been doing it for about 6 months. About 2 months ago I got a new co2 tank because my first was empty (I want to have 2 so I can refill one while the other is running). I just moved the regulator onto the new tank per the instructions and it started working. Recently after I came home from a 3 day vacation I noticed the pressure on the regulator was showing 0 but the tank shouldn't be empty yet and when I pick it up it doesn't feel empty. It went back up to ~50 psi on Friday so I thought it was just a fluke but then today it's back to zero! Some co2 is still coming out but it's around 1 bubble/5 seconds. Does anyone know why this could be?

We did have a heat wave here in Portland when all this started. It was 98-100 degrees for about a week and it finally cooled down today. Could that have something to do with it?20170813_113004.jpg20170813_113026.jpg

Sounds like you could have a leak? Have u sprayed all connections with soapy water?

Either that or the regulator is faulty I'd say.

Sounds like you could have a leak? Have u sprayed all connections with soapy water?

Either that or the regulator is faulty I'd say.
No I haven't tried spraying soapy water, I will do that and see what happens.

The regulator is an Archaea Co2 Regulator Pro single guage. It came with the co2 starter kit from the lfs. I knew it wouldn't be the highest quality but it's literally only made it through 1 tank change! That's pretty lame.

No I haven't tried spraying soapy water, I will do that and see what happens.