Converting to planted, need advice.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bazook

Aquarium Advice Regular
About a month ago I bought a 29g and being a newbie I started a fish-in cycle with a rather large community. Lost a platy, a guppy, and a snail. Surprisingly the rest survived...consisting of 3 platies, 3 guppies, a Molly and a pleco. I'm pretty sure I goofed on the cycle and restarted it because of a 50% wc about 2 weeks ago. Params are as follows:

PH- 7.6
Ammonia- roughly 2ppm (recent spike)
Nitrites- 0 ppm
Nitrates- roughly 1 or 2 ppm

This tank has pretty hard water, I do small wc's every other day now so I don't disrupt the cycle too much. I also dose with fluval bio booster during water changes, and it has recently become cloudy again. I'm worried about the condition of my fish but I also would like to soften the water and start planting the tank.

I have a bunch of plastic decor but I luckily used nat geo sand substrate and have 20g tank in the midst of the nitrite portion of the cycle that's already planted and I would like to use some clippings to get my 29g started. I was gonna drop in some root tabs and plant a couple clippings in hopes that they will eventually make use off the ammonia/nitrite/nitrate.

I've already cut off my air stones so that co2 levels can increase for a suitable environment. Any advice? What mistakes am I making? Expected downfalls?

This is my first post, very glad to be a part of the fish freak community.

Thanks in advance!

P.s. also using aquaponic filtration on both tanks.

No need to soften the water. Plants actually prefer harder water (well makes it easier to balance). A few people on this forum have very soft water including myself. This has made things a lot harder to balance/dose.