Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-19-2007, 09:27 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 405
Corkscrew val

This is supposed to be so easy to grow, but it rots in my tank and I can't get it to really perk up. My Anacharis and Sagittarius are doing fine with the Anacharis growing like gang busters. How can I get the vals to thrive?
__________________

__________________
itafx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 09:30 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rich311k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 12,189
Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
How much light do you have? What do you fertilize with? Do you add CO2? What kind of substrate?

Do you have any test readings?
__________________

__________________
From where the sun now stands, I will fight no more forever.
rich311k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 09:32 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
JDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rapid City, SD
Posts: 2,294
Re: Corkscrew val

Quote:
Originally Posted by itafx
This is supposed to be so easy to grow, but it rots in my tank and I can't get it to really perk up. My Anacharis and Sagittarius are doing fine with the Anacharis growing like gang busters. How can I get the vals to thrive?
how much light and ferts do you have?
__________________
Just because I am working at Petco does not mean I am a sell out, they are still an evil empire, that I am trying to make better.
75 Gallon: New World Cichlids|26 Gallon Bowfront: Planted Angelfish/Swordtail Tank|20 Gallon Long: "Nano" non-reef|10 Gallon: frog and mosquito fish
JDogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 09:50 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 405
I was doing 12h/d of light (~2w/gal) but cranked it back to 10h in battling BGA. I used a substrate formula from a Jim Kelley post which had garden soil, vermiculite and osmocote.

The only readings I have are Ph and Ammonia. Zero ammonia and Ph ~7.2
__________________
itafx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 09:54 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rich311k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 12,189
Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
10 hours is fine. What are your nitrate readings? Do you add ferts?
__________________
From where the sun now stands, I will fight no more forever.
rich311k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 10:02 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 405
I tried hunks of lillytabs from Lilypons, pushed into the substrate at the bases of plants, but I wasn't sure how well it worked and I know it had some phosphorous. The other fert I tried was osmocote time release fertilizer pellets, but they have phosphorous too. I've ordered the tablets from aquariumplants.com that don't have any free phosphorous and are supposed to last 2-3 months. I really don't want to put fertilizer into the water. I'd rather keep it in the substrate. I did measure nitrates with a test strip. NO2 was zero and NO3 was 40.
__________________
itafx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 11:24 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 775
Send a message via ICQ to zenkatydid Send a message via AIM to zenkatydid Send a message via MSN to zenkatydid
my experience of those vals is that really appreciate co2 injection. mine didn't thrive until i added diy co2.
__________________
50gal planted - yoyo loaches, BNs, odessa barbs, giant danios
33gal planted - praecox rainbows, gold ram, bolivian rams, sparkling gouramis, licorice gouramis, lots of shrimp
2 x 5gal planted - bettas
zenkatydid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 11:38 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rkilling1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NE ohio
Posts: 2,245
Send a message via AIM to rkilling1
Quote:
Originally Posted by itafx
I really don't want to put fertilizer into the water. I'd rather keep it in the substrate.
Sorry to tell you this, but most aquatic plants get most of their nutrients from the water column. Substrate ferts do help some plants, but you WILL get better growth with water column and substrate ferts or just dosing the water column alone as compared to only substrate dosing. There are quite a few plants that only have a root system to anchor it in place and not uptake nutrients.
__________________
My Planted Aquariums
rkilling1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 08:49 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 359
Corkscrew val will rot if you plant its root deep! This is the main cause. You need leave the main stem out of substrate and can barely see the root.
__________________
gu2high is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 10:37 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
shayfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 577
I have corkscrews that do great in only 1.5 wpg and dose with only flourish comprehensive. I really don't think they need co2.
__________________
shayfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 10:52 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 405
I have one tank with a lower Ph and the vals in there are doing ok. I wonder if a Ph over 7 is a problem for vals.
__________________
itafx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 02:33 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 405
In the intervening months, I started dosing with Excel to control beard algae. Then I heard that Vals are sensitive to Excel. Maybe that has been part of the problem with my Vals not thriving.
__________________
itafx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 02:49 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Skyrmir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 522
Send a message via ICQ to Skyrmir Send a message via AIM to Skyrmir
Yup, Flourish Excel will tear up Vals and Anacharis and a few other plants. You'll want to use real co2 for tanks with those in it. It's far more expensive up front, but over the long run, co2 injection is actually cheaper after a few years.
__________________
Skyrmir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2008, 03:06 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 405
Do you know any other particular plant species that are sensitive to Excel? I wonder if I'm hurting anything else in my tanks by using the Excel. I invested in 2 liters of the stuff so I would like to find out which tanks I can use it up in without harming the flora.
__________________

__________________
itafx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
corkscrew, val

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corkscrew val jonnythan Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 12-29-2008 05:06 PM
My corkscrew vals omgfish Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 1 04-18-2007 11:22 PM
corkscrew vals vs excel ryan Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 10-13-2006 06:56 PM
Corkscrew Vals? Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 07-07-2006 01:15 AM
WTB: jungle or corkscrew vals quadrider5953 Archive 1 02-20-2006 06:31 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.