Cost effective CO2 options

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Khuligirl93

Aquarium Advice Addict
I have been doing a lot of reading about what is is best option for CO2 injection. I haven't actually DONE anything yet to my ten gallon, but I really want to make sure I know what my plan is before I start and screw something up.
So at first I thought that I would go the DIY route because I am a poor college student and I'm already going to have to spend money on a new light. But after more reading, I've been hearing people say how messy DIY CO2 is, and how you have to replace it so often, and there is really no way to control the flow or turn it off at night (causing pH swings). This especially concerns me because I will be gone half the summer and my tanks will be in the hands of my parents. So then I started researching about pressurized systems. I know I can get paintball cartridges from my local sporting goods store so I thought hey, no big deal, ill just do that! But then I found out that you have to have a regulator to go on the cartridge, and everywhere I search has them priced at $80-$160!!!!! I hear people talk about pressurized systems all the time but no one mentions anything about how expensive the little regulators are!
So I guess my question is, what is the most cost effective way to go about this?

i have a 5 lb co tank with a milwaukee regulator i think total cost was 150, 50 for tank 100 for the regulator, tubing is like 5 bucks and a diffuser price varies, the one i got was from GLA which was 20?