Could this light work?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SWerner13

Aquarium Advice Freak
I have a desk lamp that I was looking at. I'll try and get a picture tonight. The bulb reads 40 watt 120 volt. If I replaced this with a CFL (twirly bulb) could I effectively have an extra 40 watts to put over my tank? Will it be much less efficient than the average aquarium light? Thanks

it will not be in the right spectrum I believe. I am new to the planted world but from everything I have heard and read you need the right spectrum of light between 6700 and 10000 K and a regular bulb does not have that

You could find a CFL in the right spectrum, and it would add some extra light. I don't think you could call it adding 40 watts to the tank though, as those twirly cfls mean that even a great reflector is not going to focus the light into the tank.

People have use the Pigtails CF for planted tanks. You can find Daylight/ full spectrum ones at the hardware store.

However, they usu. comes in 13W (maybe some 17's, but I have not seen daylight ones in that), so you are not going to be able to get 40 W in the fixture.

And as others had said, only a fraction of the light produced is going to get into the tank because of the spiral design. So, you can get some extra usable light into the tank, but not nearly as much as you are hoping for.

Well if I can get 50% efficiency then that would still put 60 watts over a 10 gallon which is pretty solid light.

Jsoong I'm confused by what you meant. Are you saying I can't get a 40watt bulb that is in the right spectrum and that I would have to goto a lower watt?

I think you may be looking at less than 50% efficiency, but still the principle is the same- you are adding extra light for less cost than buying an "aquarium" fixture.