Cycling after only 3 days?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

starquest

Aquarium Advice Activist
Just got the temp up to 79° on Sunday, in my new 50G tank, so I dosed it to 4 ppm NH3. On Monday, there was a trace of trites; on Tues trites were up to 3; and today they were bright purple, so I tested trate, and I think they were >80. I only seeded it with a fake plant and a rock from the old tank. Does this even seem possible?

Test your tap water with API master kit for ammonia, nitrites and nitrates and then compare with water from your tank.
I was doing fishless cycle but instead of ammonia I was dosing fish food every three days. I got my master kit 2 week after starting and first test showed 0 ammonia, 0 nitrites, but 80 nitrates. Looked like cycle was done! I was Wrong! My tap water contains around 40 ppm nitrates. That confused me a lot. So test your tap water! Good luck with cycling, I know how frustrating that might be.

Btw. It seems very little possible that with amount of seeded material you got it started cycling in 3 days.

Btw. It seems very little possible that with amount of seeded material you got it started cycling in 3 days.
I know! That's the reason that I am asking here on the forum. But, BTW, I tested the tap water on Sunday, just to be sure where I was, and it tested the same as always: NH3 - 0, NO2 - 0, NO3-0, so I'm feeling kind of lost. It isn't making any sense to me. But thanks for the response.

It this case you are a lucky one ;-) If you added ammonia and already seeing some NO2 and NO3 them it means it is cycling. Just keep it going for at least 2, 3 weeks before adding any fish.

Yeah. That's what I was thinking. Probably should do a huge pwc, so I can actually read the results. Thankfully I just got a water changer, or that'd be a lot of buckets.
my substrate is EcoComplete. Think that could have helped?