Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-05-2012, 09:06 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Atxpunx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tyler, TX
Posts: 989
Send a message via Yahoo to Atxpunx
Deep substrate in new setup.

I'm setting up my 55 gallon again and I'm wanting the bottom of the tank to be closer to the lights. How deep could I make my substrate? I intend to use oil dri as the substrate, the light is a 4 bulb odyssea t5 ho fixture using two separate ballasts. I want to plant glosso, swords, and various stem plants that I already in other tanks. I want the substrate deep enough for the swords to thrive and the substrate close enough to allow the glosso to thrive. How deep is too deep, and would there be any problems in the long run from having a substrate five to seven inches deep? Thanks for any advice.
__________________

__________________
Atxpunx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 07:05 PM   #2
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
7 inches is pretty deep... you could end up with pockets of anaerobic bacteria growth if you go that deep. If you are dilligent about stirring the substrate up during water changes it would probably be ok though. The deepest I have ever gone is around 4", and I had no adverse affects from that.
__________________

fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 10:46 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
heyheyitsrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Harker Heights TX
Posts: 198
Send a message via Skype™ to heyheyitsrae
In regards to the anaerobic bacteria air pockets, what if you put in tons of MTSs?
__________________
heyheyitsrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 11:28 PM   #4
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
Seems like that might help.
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 06:55 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
hcourts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: huntington, wv
Posts: 654
How deep do they burrow though(mts). Seems mine don't dig that deep. I still usually see their shells...
__________________
hcourts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 08:06 PM   #6
come get me tang police!
 
jetajockey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: In a swamp near you /Pensacola, FL
Posts: 12,047
Look up freshwater deep sand beds. I've not tried one personally, but it does look plausible. Another option would be to stack something like slate tiles before adding substrate. I've not tried that either but I bet 12 " tiles would be a tight fit in a 55.
__________________
Dont Forget to Join my FREE weekly Plant Giveaway.
Click Here!
jetajockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 12:31 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Super_Blueberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Esko, MN
Posts: 651
Quote:
Originally Posted by jetajockey
I've not tried that either but I bet 12 " tiles would be a tight fit in a 55.
they don't fit in my tank. I had to take a half inch off. Luckily my slate tiles broke fairly clean with a flat head screwdriver and a hammer.
__________________
Super_Blueberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 08:00 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Atxpunx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tyler, TX
Posts: 989
Send a message via Yahoo to Atxpunx
Quote:
Originally Posted by jetajockey
Look up freshwater deep sand beds. I've not tried one personally, but it does look plausible.
Very interesting read jeta. I'll be looking deeper into the subject of deep sand beds(no pun intended I swear). Using oildri I wonder if the surface area is enough to keep everything cozy and undisturbed under the surface of the substrate. Slates could help with a couple of inches of the intended height. Thanks for the tip blueberry.
__________________

__________________
Atxpunx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
new setup, setup, substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.