Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 03-30-2013, 12:00 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict

Dipping plants in peroxide.

I have read that doing this will destroy snail and snail eggs. I've never tried this before and I'm just asking if it's true. Today I'm planning on redoing my 10 gallon and messing with my 29. Do I just get a bottle of hydrogen peroxide and let the plants sit in it for 5 minutes or so, then rinse them off? Thanks.

Old 03-30-2013, 12:14 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Really depends on the solution of the Peroxide.

Old 03-30-2013, 12:23 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

I read to soak for 1 minute a couple of times with good rinsing in between & after. I used regular Hydrogen Peroxide from any store. All my plants did just fine .
Old 03-30-2013, 12:24 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tetra1990 View Post
I have read that doing this will destroy snail and snail eggs. I've never tried this before and I'm just asking if it's true. Today I'm planning on redoing my 10 gallon and messing with my 29. Do I just get a bottle of hydrogen peroxide and let the plants sit in it for 5 minutes or so, then rinse them off? Thanks.
I don't think it does anything for snails, I believe peroxide dips are more for algae
Zimmanski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 12:27 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishanatic View Post
Really depends on the solution of the Peroxide.
So would I dilute it? Like what you do with bleach. But in this case it would be with water. To make a weaker solution.
Old 03-30-2013, 12:31 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict

Quote:
So would I dilute it? Like what you do with bleach. But in this case it would be with water. To make a weaker solution.