Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-21-2011, 09:34 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 178
Drop Checker question

I finally got a drop checker(a Red Sea one). Made the 4dKH solution for it, put it into the checker, and added the 2 drops of the solution it came with. Couldn't make out any color, so I added 2 more, and still no noticable color.
Finally, after a nice little search(yeah search function) found that I can use the API standard range pH reagent in place of the liquid it came with(suspect that the stuff it came with is no good).
Put it in, and an hour later, I'm finally seeing a change in color. Is it normal for it to take that long to make a change?
I have the checker at the far end of the tank(10 gallon) from the filter and DIY CO2 injection setup(redid my setup, and it seems to work better now). It still has some flow past it, but I didn't want it artifically high from being close to the injection setup.
Also, how often do you have to replace the solution in the drop checker?
Thanks in advance.
__________________

__________________
straick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2011, 10:19 PM   #2
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,409
Yeah, it'll take a little while to change colors. Change it every month or so.
__________________

__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2011, 10:53 PM   #3
come get me tang police!
 
jetajockey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: In a swamp near you /Pensacola, FL
Posts: 12,047
eventually the drop checker color will fade and then go clear, you'll know when its time to change it.
__________________
jetajockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2011, 11:04 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 178
Ok, so the solution that came with it may very well have been bad. 3 drops of the API ph test gives me a nice, easy to see color. As of right now, my DIY CO2 system is in the green area, which going by the pH/kH chart, should be between 20 and 30 ppm.
__________________
straick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2011, 11:19 PM   #5
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,409
Yep, green is good. I keep mine lime green though, just to help with bba
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 08:20 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 178
Woke up this morning, and it was yellow. Guess my DIY system works better than I thought with the new CO2 reactor. Guess I'll have to put the reactor onto a timer so that it's only on during the day(when the lights are on, and of at night.
__________________
straick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 09:36 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Republic, OH
Posts: 401
Quote:
Originally Posted by straick View Post
Ok, so the solution that came with it may very well have been bad. 3 drops of the API ph test gives me a nice, easy to see color. As of right now, my DIY CO2 system is in the green area, which going by the pH/kH chart, should be between 20 and 30 ppm.

i think im having the same problem. did you use the low ph test solution?
__________________
75gal 2 bala sharks,1glass catfish,3clown loaches 1of each,blue gourami,sun catfish,banjo catfish,giant asian upside down catfish,hillstream loach-10gal 6glowfish/blacklite
strokinbyeu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 11:41 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 178
Yeah. Think I have a solution for the CO2 increase at night.
Set up an airpump on a timer. Runs at night, and intermittently during the day. I'll have to play with how often it runs to try and get everything nice and smooth. Starting to make me wish that a compressed CO2 setup wasn't so expensive.
__________________

__________________
straick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
checker, drop

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drop checker? roydooms Aquaria Off-Topic 40 05-18-2011 05:26 PM
drop checker fishfanatic Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 29 04-18-2011 07:08 PM
Drop checker Welshy DIY Projects 0 02-28-2011 08:28 AM
PH/KH vs Drop Checker ricardo48 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 4 10-31-2009 10:50 AM
Drop checker cbwmn Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 02-01-2009 09:31 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.