Dry/Wet Dosing Macro and Micro nutrients is pretty easy.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

betowess

Aquarium Advice Freak
Just for grins, I thought I might post this subject. If anyone cares to comment or correct me... I'm new to this... please do. The beauty of this dosing regimen is you can control the dosing of potassium, nitrates, phosphates, and trace elements individually. I'm thinking many serious planted tank hobbiest now dose their ferts this way. And its alot cheaper than the big name ferts which seem more hit and miss to me.

First of all, I probably shouldn't be dry/wet dosing ferts as my tanks are so small. I've just got a 26 gallon bow and an 18 gallon. But I wanted to practice fertilizing this way before I get an 80 gallon, hopefully sometime this summer. I decided to do it this way after communicating with Rex Grigg, who really has this stuff down. Its really pretty simple if you invest a few hours thinking about it. Most all of this is on Rex's FAQ.

So here goes. (Note, I have quite soft, pure well water... You may want to check with your local water department to find out your water's chemistry/parameters.)

Potassium is a key macro nutrient for plant growth. First, I add about 1/16 to 1/8 teaspoon of a dry powder of potassium sulphate (aka "K2SO4) per 4 to 4.5 gallons of change water. I still use 5 gallon buckets for change water.

The target level is 10 to 20 ppm of potassium. A 1/2 teaspoon of K2SO4 in 25 gallons of water yields around 14.18 ppm of potassium in the water. I can get a one pound baggie of potassium (aka "K2SO4) from Greg Watson's PMDD store for a couple of bucks. This is one of the least expensive ways to add potassium to a planted tank. For those who don't know, PMDD is an acrynym for Poor Man's Daily Drops. Greg also sells micro measuring spoons for folks like me with small planted tanks.