Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-13-2004, 07:49 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: CA
Posts: 51
eco-complete and phosphate

Hey everyone! I have just finished replacing my old substrate with eco complete ( i read great reviews on this forum). Anyhoo, i did a phosphate test the next day and to my surprise it was over 10 ppm!!! I checked my tap water and it is 0 ppm. The packaging says there are no phosphates in eco complete.... i was wondering if anyone else has had this occurence?
Thanks everyone!
Nystina
__________________

__________________
Nystina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2004, 10:59 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
TankGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 8,974
Hmm. I doubt that the Eco-Complete is responsible. In your old substrate had you been using root tabs, fertilizer sticks or anything like that? When you replaced the substrate something got stirred up - that's my guess.

Water changes are in order to get the phosphate level down, or use a phosphate-removing media in your filter if water changes don't handle it right away.
__________________

TankGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2004, 04:48 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: CA
Posts: 51
Ya, i had been using plant tabs.. i didn't know that could be a cause. I have been changing the water and using a phosphate sponge and i'm almost back to "normal" Thanks for your help TankGirl!
Nystina
Nystina is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eco-complete, phosphate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using Eco-Complete Fishkid Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 03-22-2009 07:46 PM
Need Help! Eco-Complete The_Wolfman Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 01-08-2009 11:52 PM
eco complete xander Midwest & the Dakotas 4 02-21-2008 11:07 PM
Eco Complete or something else? happygirl65 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 4 02-16-2008 03:47 AM
eco complete RoLeX Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 07-25-2006 06:42 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.