Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 04-14-2011, 02:50 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak

Educate Me

I'm still a newbie with fish, but I'm absolutely clueless about live plants. I plan to get about 2-3 "moss balls" (not sure what to call them... they're a bit larger than a golf ball and covered in moss) for my 30-gallon.

Do these (or any) aquatic plants need to be acclimated? If so, is it for temperature, pH, water quality, etc? Or, do they just get a rinse before adding them to the tank?

Old 04-14-2011, 02:53 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular

Just chuck them in and they'll be fine.

Old 04-14-2011, 02:55 PM   #3
Sliced Bread

It kinda depends on how they're packaged IMO. Some folks sell/ship plants in a bag full of water. For this, I do float them to temp acclimate (don't ask me why, I just do). Others of us ship plants in almost no water at all (just enough to keep them damp). For those, they get a rinse and go right in the tank.
Old 04-14-2011, 03:07 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak

Ok, next question...

I want a "centerpiece" plant for a 15" tall 30-gallon. So, I'd like it to grow to about 8" tall but NO more than 12" tall.

This must be a low-tech plant with nearly no requirements. I don't want it to require fertilizer. It must live with a daylight spectrum T8 fluorescent bulb. No CO2. Not toxic to community fish (if any plants are toxic... I wasn't sure). No special substrate required - only small-medium gravel. I'm willing to do some occasional trimming.

If such a plant doesn't exist, then so be it, but I'm not willing (at this time) to attempt something difficult (by my definition).
Old 04-14-2011, 03:12 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular

Sunset hygro.