first planted tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

packermaniac04

Aquarium Advice Newbie
New user here. This is my first time posting. Ive kept fish for a while but recently wanted to start a planted tank. I know almost nothing so any help would be appreciated. I plan on starting a ten gallon tank with two 15 watt cfl's. Im ok with it being very low tech. I would like to plant dwarf sag, java fern, and anacharis. Do i have enough light for these plants. Also can i just use sand as substrate or will i need something else? Do i need any ferts? This will be a shrimp tank if that matters. Thanks!

How new are your bulbs? Also do you know the par value of them? Do you want to run co2 on the tank or keep it low tech? And what kind of sand are you talking about like play sand, fluorite black sand?? I'll be more than happy to help I just need some more info from you.

2 CFLs over a 10g is an ample amount of light, in fact it might be too much, so just keep that in mind if you start having algae issues. Be sure to get bulbs that are full spectrum, which is usually daylight range (~6500k-ish). You can use whatever substrate you want, but you might want to consider dosing something basic like flourish comprehensive.

2 CFLs over a 10g is an ample amount of light, in fact it might be too much, so just keep that in mind if you start having algae issues. Be sure to get bulbs that are full spectrum, which is usually daylight range (~6500k-ish). You can use whatever substrate you want, but you might want to consider dosing something basic like flourish comprehensive.

+1

My 10 gallon has 2-14w cfl bulbs and is considered a 'High Lighting' aquarium. I am able to grow baby tears and glossos and many more...

At Home Depot you can get the ecosmart 14w Daylight which is only $8 for a 4pack. These are 5000k. Not the optimum color, but it works well.