Gardening soil mix as substrate

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Rcguerra

Aquarium Advice FINatic
So today I had a casual conversation inside PetCo with an older lady that was buying about 1/2 dozen Brazilian Swords. Since I am from Brazil, we started talking about biodiversity etc, and the lady seems to be quite knowledgeable about planted tanks.

However, she mentioned that for the past 7 years or so, she has been using gardening soil mix enriched with Osmocote plus (and something equivalent she was using back in the days, butt I was not familiar with its commercial name) under a 2 inch topping of river sand and her plants were just amazing. She even mentioned her gold fish do well under these circumstances.

Is this safe for fish? I would love to have some real soil for the plants, but I am quite new to the hobby and it just sounded...a little fishy.

Organic, non-fertilized soil is safe for fish. The dirt should be capped with another substrate like sand to keep it from flying around in the tank. It will tank about 3 weeks to cycle a dirted tank.

It can be messy if you move plants around. And IMO, by the time you buy the sand and dirt, you could have come close to just buying a bag of aquasoil or Eco... Not a fan, but that's just me. If you're doing a large tank I suppose it would be more economical.