growing anubias + java fern in bb tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fishman888888

Aquarium Advice Freak
Never posted in the planted section before.... i'm completely new to plants/lighting.
Ive had my tank (125 gal community) for just over 1 year, and i have no issue maintaining good water conditions and parameters. My tank is barebottom (which helps with cleaning)..but it only has fake plants.....so here I am

Right now i have a coralife ....either 30" or 36"
T5 - 2 x 96w, 6700k ..
..im wondering what kind of light does that generate? Low, medium, high?

I have the light resting directly on my glass lids, so approximately 2-3 inches over the water surface, would this be an issue?

I want to grow 3 plants:
-Anubias
-Java fern
-Floating plants (looking for recommendations)

I want to attach the java ferns and anubias to my driftwood and have some questions:
Fishing line or thread?
Where to place... mid level? Lower levels? What would give these plants the best environment?
Would i be able to get away with using root tabs, and excel or would i need co2?

As for the floating plants, im looking for something thats hardy and good for my gouramis
...how would you fertilize these plants? How would my lighting need to be for these plants?

Never posted in the planted section before.... i'm completely new to plants/lighting.

Ive had my tank (125 gal community) for just over 1 year, and i have no issue maintaining good water conditions and parameters. My tank is barebottom (which helps with cleaning)..but it only has fake plants.....so here I am

Right now i have a coralife ....either 30" or 36"

T5 - 2 x 96w, 6700k ..

..im wondering what kind of light does that generate? Low, medium, high?

I have the light resting directly on my glass lids, so approximately 2-3 inches over the water surface, would this be an issue?