Growing Hornwort

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

AndrewH

Aquarium Advice Activist
So I got a nice big bundle of hornwort in my new 29 Gallon. Now I'm pretty new to growing plants. I only have a 25w long flourescent light. So I'm only going to grow low light plants.

My question is. Since hornworts can be planted in the substrate or floated, I decided to weight the bottom of the hornwort down between 2 large rocks. Will this work? I'm not sure if it will grow around the rock... which is what I'm looking for. Advice?

No, it won't grow around the rock. I took a small suction cup that had a hole in it and pulled some hornwort through it and let it float in one spot in my 29g and my fish love to hang out there.

No, it won't grow around the rock. I took a small suction cup that had a hole in it and pulled some hornwort through it and let it float in one spot in my 29g and my fish love to hang out there.

Great Idea Dottie

Hornwort won't grow on the rock. But if you are looking to have a bunch of plants around the rock, you can certainly wedge it down around the rock like you did <not too tightly or the bottom might rot>. As long as you have enough light hitting the bottom, hornwort can be "planted". <It doesn't grow roots or anything.> If your plant is very small, you might want to float it till it is longer, before "planting" so the top can be exposed to good light.

To get a nice bushy look, I trim off the very top segment and the bottom will tend to branch out. <Float those trimmings for more plants.>