"Hair" on saggitaria and brown spots on java fern (w/pics)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

resist-

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm a novice currently cycling my 10 gals with 3 saggitarias and 1 java fern, but i'm having problems with my plants right now.

My setup is:

2*13watt (fluocompact)

Last tests:
Ammonia: 2
Nitrite: 4
Nitrate: 30

No CO2

Between 12 to 14 hours of lighting / day.
Very small snail appeared, but they are not too invasive so far i've been able to remove them one by one.

Now, one saggitaria has some "hair" on it's leaves (look at 1st pic). Looks like algae, but i'm not quite sure. And I really don't know what to do with that.

Java fern has some brown spots on it (2nd pic). and i'm ocnfused about what to do.

I was planning to go buy some snail killing products, since they is not fish in the tank. Any other advice about what I should do to help my plants ?

Attachments

• sag.jpg
    sag.jpg
    58.8 KB · Views: 96
  • java.jpg
    java.jpg
    47.7 KB · Views: 117
I am no expert but you might wanna check your phosphates(sp). Looks like hair algae too me, I have the same problem atm and that is what I was told to do.