Help with aquarium lights.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Kristian Tombs

Aquarium Advice Freak
In the hood at the moment I have the LED strip that came with the tank. It's low light. But I wanna grown some moderate light plants and I was wondering how can I up the lighting and improve. I'm a lighting noob!

Well, for starters, what size tank is this, and what's your budget for this? I would also recommend you look into using a carbon supplement like Excel in addition to fertilizers for maximum plant health, assuming you don't want to get into Excel.

Well, for starters, what size tank is this, and what's your budget for this? I would also recommend you look into using a carbon supplement like Excel in addition to fertilizers for maximum plant health, assuming you don't want to get into Excel.

10 gallon tank already using
a plant substrate
a weekly fertiliser
a daily fertiliser
a daily API Liquid CO2 Supplement

Just my lighting is not the best. I was thinking of buying two more led strips and putting them in

For a 10g, the generic hoods with screw in light sockets can work great for an affordable option to get good light. If you use 10-15w CFL bulbs instead of incandescent bulbs, you can achieve fairly significant light levels, or at least enough to get in trouble.

For a 10g, the generic hoods with screw in light sockets can work great for an affordable option to get good light. If you use 10-15w CFL bulbs instead of incandescent bulbs, you can achieve fairly significant light levels, or at least enough to get in trouble.
my hood is part of a kit and has no bulb sockets :(

I had a similar problem also for a small tank. I bought a 2 socket clip on desk lamp- and used 2 aquarium bulbs. The neck is adjustable- so it can be directed to specific areas if heavy planting.

It cost me about $9