Hi-tech planted Conversion - UPDATES - Feb.28.2007

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dapellegrini

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Big thanks to everyone on this board who has helped me with various questions in renovating my 72g aquarium... During a long plane ride today I decided to write up this summary and post up some photos to share a little bit of my experience over the last 6 weeks going hi-tech planted.

Introduction: I have been doing aquariums for about 18 years now (since I was 12). I have had more tanks that I can count, and believe that I have owned nearly every freshwater aquatic creature available on the market, with exception of discus. My tanks have ranged in size from 1g to 80g, including planted, terrarium and other setups. 7 years ago I got married and reduced my tank hobby down to one 72g bow front tank.

For the past year my 72g has suffered from severe neglect. I guess you could say that I was it bit burned out with the Aquarium hobby. Scrubbing the glass, taking out the plants that I bought 4 weeks ago because they had died and dealing with BBA. I basically got to the point where I was either going to do away with the tank, or make some big changes.

DSC03191.JPG

I stumbled on RateMyFishTank.com last summer and saw some incredible freshwater planted tanks and decided that this would be my new mission. I have always wanted to do a Reef tank (next project) but decided that setting up and maintaining a hi-tech freshwater planted tank like I have seen on the internet can be just as cool, and would be a great half-step towards an eventual reef setup. I have never really paid much attention to details in a tank (water quality, ferts, filtration, etc). I have spent $1,000’s on plants over my lifetime, but never had much success with them.