Hi-tech planted tank newbie

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ezzakins

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi,

I'm hoping you lovely experts can help me (I apologise in advance for what I know will be a long post!).

In a few months time (or whenever I'm fully comfortable with my knowledge no matter how long it takes) I'm looking to attempt my first hi-tech planted aquarium. I have had my 70l tropical tank for a number of years now and am looking to upgrade to a Juwel Trigon 190l. I have zero experience with planted tanks and have always just had fake decor. After starting my research into planted tanks I thought "sod it"... I know I want to dabble with hi-tech and will only keep wishing I did if I didn't.

My problem is, despite reading various websites and forums over the last few weeks, I still feel I'm only just touching the tip of the subject... I know there is loads to learn, but finding one place with it all is proving quite difficult! And unfortunately, I don't know anyone personally to learn from.

Despite having some basic knowledge from what I've read, I would like to start as if I'm a complete newbie. My question is, does anyone know of any good books or other sources of research for hi-tech planted tanks; for setting it up, and maintaining it afterwards, dosing etc (especially when it comes to C02, the equipment, readings etc)

Also, I'm kinda toying with the idea of paying someone to set everything up and learning from them first hand with their experience and maintenance until I'm comfortable I can do everything myself...does anyone know any companies (or people for that matter) that offer this kind of service in Birmingham/West Midlands area and maybe some rough estimate on price?

Any advice really would be fantastic as I want to be totally clued up before I even think about attempting this

Cheers :)

Love high tech tanks!