Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-23-2011, 11:26 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
aquabeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 579
home made co2 for my plants

i made a co2 system formy plants using the yeast method, i currently have a v spiralis, a amazon swoard, a few java ferns and a crypt, should the co2 be nessecarry? i also use liquid fertilizer.. should the co2 work hooked up to a powerhead?
__________________

__________________
aquabeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2011, 12:14 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bruinsbro1997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: California Coastline
Posts: 5,663
With the plants you have, if you have good lighting and your tank is established CO2 might not really be necessary especially for the java fern. But if you want them to grow big you can use that.
__________________

__________________
"If you're not making mistakes, then you're not doing anything. I'm positive that a doer makes mistakes."
--John Wooden
bruinsbro1997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2011, 10:09 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
aquabeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 579
my v spiralis has already hit the top of the tank.. im not cutting them back.. the tanks been up and running since nov2010. i just figured itd help them.
__________________
aquabeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2011, 10:46 AM   #4
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,409
injecting co2 isn't a matter of what plants you have really, it's a matter of how much light you have. It certainly won't hurt to inject co2, but it may not help much
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
co2, plant, plants

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.