i have black fuzz growing on my plants in my 75-gal tank . . .

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

goodogcarl

Aquarium Advice Regular
it looks like i could take my thumb and scrape it off . . . gut that's not the case.

i'm new to the hobby and am trying to absorb as much info as possible. someone told me chinese algae eaters are good for this problem . . . anything else? i've heard chinese algae eaters can be aggressive and i really don't want that.

is there anything i shoul've already been doing to prevent this problem?

appreciate any help you can give me.

It's BBA. Chinese algae eaters don't eat it but siamese algae eaters do. It's not often recommended to add fish to control algae though. What's your light, how long do you leave it on, what ferts do you use, tank depth and any other info you might think will help? The best cure is prevention.
To treat what you have now you can remove the leaves affected then treat the remaining algae with excel or hydrogen peroxide.

http://www.aquariumslife.com/featured/algae-control-with-flourish-excel/

http://www.aquaticscape.com/articles/algae.htm

thank you so much for your response. i just bought a new bulb that was labelled as "ultra sun" but it seems this algae had begun before the new bulb.

i turn the light on when i get up in the morning (7:00 or so) and shut it off when i go to bed (11:00 or so)