Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-08-2008, 11:58 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 212
Is this excessive?

I'm moving so I have to get rid of my 90 gallon surf-line tank. Hopefully I'll be able to sell it. Anyways, I'm thinking of getting a smaller tank so I can still get my aquarium 'fix.'

I'll probably get a 20 gallon but I need to know if I'm going way overboard with my lighting. I have two 55 watt pc bulbs from A H supplies. Will 110 watts be too much, or should I just go with the 55 watt? With my 90 gallon, I really didn't have to worry about CO2. I did use ferts from Greg Watson though.

Here is what I was thinking...I could use more ferts and add a yeast CO2 system supplemented with Excel. I will have some stem plants as well as some good high-light ground cover plants since I've never had any of them before. Am I insane because I'm going to use 110 watts? I've had planted tanks for years, but they have always been closer to the medium to low light tanks.

__________________
yohann976 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2008, 08:55 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 137
That'd be pretty insane, yup. That'd be like reef tank lighting.

Just use one of them.
__________________
ingg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2008, 09:26 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: black hills, south dakota
Posts: 2,373
Send a message via AIM to black hills tj Send a message via MSN to black hills tj Send a message via Yahoo to black hills tj
Nearly 6 watts per gallon...hmmm. I want to see it done. Yeast CO2 won't do the trick. You will need pressurized for sure. Once you figure out what it takes to control the algae, it may turn into a neat tank.
__________________
<.^.>Mike<.^.>

https://www.bhtj.net
black hills tj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2008, 09:35 AM   #4
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
You have options. Just run 1 bulb, like ingg said, you'll be better off. yeast CO2 isn't going to support that, and you'll just end up in algae nightmares.

I do successfully run 65W on my 20g, with pressurized CO2 though.
__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2008, 01:28 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 212
I suppose one of the bulbs would be enough for a 20 gallon. Since both bulbs run off of one ballast, I could use the other one for an indoor bonsai next to the tank.

I do have one concern about using just one bulb though. Will that focus too much light cross the center of the tank? Or will the light spread to the front and back of the tank?
__________________
yohann976 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2008, 02:40 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Aberdeen, WA
Posts: 1,864
There is the option to move the light above the tank, maybe way above. lol.
This would slightly reduce the overall amount of light that penetrates and could even light up the tnak more evenly. Might even have enough light that way for the tank and the Bonsai.

I would think that 12-18 inches above the tank would be a good place to start if it is an option.
__________________
fish_4_all is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 08:27 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
JohnPaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 1,017
If the ballast is such that you MUST have two bulbs in it in order for it to function, then another option would be to replace one of the two bulbs with a bulb that doesn't provide light in the spectrum plants can use. Extra "visible" light isn't going to cause problems, it's the plant-spectrum light that will cause headaches.
__________________
JohnPaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
excessive bubbles !!!! podman1973 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 09-07-2008 02:55 PM
Excessive heat from lighting Reese General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 02-25-2006 05:06 AM
Circulation without excessive flow bromion Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 11-07-2005 07:42 PM
Excessive Algae Growth SirLight1337 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 05-19-2005 09:36 PM
pump for sump...excessive? Oceanicsublimat General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 04-20-2005 08:21 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.