Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-12-2007, 12:18 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Kensington [Sydney], Australia
Posts: 141
Send a message via MSN to bra_van_drakh Send a message via Yahoo to bra_van_drakh
java fern Qs

i've been keeping a handfull of java fern in my 20 gal long tank for 6months now, and the old leaves started to fall after it 'gave birth' to plenty of new shoots. . .since the hole in my log is alredy full, i was thinking of putting it on the gravel, is it possible ??? my lfs said that it cant be done [i thought that he just wanted me to buy his nice looking log with ferns on t]

another Q. . ..my spatterdog came in with large leaves, but after the old ones died off, it left the plant with small leaves, same as my fern, lace java fern, and my syngonium. . ..does the tank size applies to it as it is for fish ???
__________________

__________________
bra_van_drakh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 01:08 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: black hills, south dakota
Posts: 2,373
Send a message via AIM to black hills tj Send a message via MSN to black hills tj Send a message via Yahoo to black hills tj
I don't think that you can grow java ferns in the substrate. You could attach it to decorations or other sections of your log if you wanted. I have a pretty good sized narrow leaf java fern attached to a rock in my tank.
__________________

__________________
<.^.>Mike<.^.>

https://www.bhtj.net
black hills tj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 11:00 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sicklid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Brandon, FL
Posts: 1,077
I tie several babies to chunks of flat lava rock once they start their own rhizomes, and they grow into huge bunching ferns that I lay right on the substrate... I will post pics if ya want.
__________________
Regards,
Marty
Sicklid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 11:25 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
QTOFFER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kew Gardens, NY
Posts: 4,295
Once the baby fern has a rhizome, you can partially bury it in the substrate. The little brown roots will attach themselves to pieces of gravel over time.

I haven't had too much success partially burying leaves that had sprouted babies - they float upward because there's nothing growing downward to anchor them. I have been successful wedging sprouting leaves into cracks in rocks and driftwood.
__________________
QTOFFER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2007, 03:35 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Kensington [Sydney], Australia
Posts: 141
Send a message via MSN to bra_van_drakh Send a message via Yahoo to bra_van_drakh
want to, some picts would be great^^. ..

i've ran out of holes on my log for the java fern and its sprouts.. .the sprouts've been growing well till now [besides its small leaves]
so is it okay to bury the grown ones too on the gravel ???

i wanted to tie them to my log, but it's gonna difficult since it's half crescent shaped and buried 3" down to the gravel, and i dont want to put it out of the tank coz it'll bring catastrophy to the entire tank T _ T'
besides, i'm moving to aussie next month and dont wanna make my brother difficult later on taking care of my tank, so i just wanna get a quite quick way to add some greenies to my tank.. .i thought tieing the fern to a decoration would take quite some time and also not 100% successful. . .

thX all^^
__________________
bra_van_drakh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2007, 10:43 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: black hills, south dakota
Posts: 2,373
Send a message via AIM to black hills tj Send a message via MSN to black hills tj Send a message via Yahoo to black hills tj
I use low strength monofilament fishing line. Doesn't take long, and as far as my java ferns go it has worked great. You can't see it(go with lo-vis clear), and once you can see that the plant has taken hold of the object you just give it a quick snip and pull it out.
__________________
<.^.>Mike<.^.>

https://www.bhtj.net
black hills tj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2007, 09:57 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sicklid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Brandon, FL
Posts: 1,077
Here is a photo of my tank full of Java Fern growing on the rocks and substrate... Victorian cichlids love to eat my Watermelon swords which is why they are uprooted and floating!

All of the ferns (and more I have given away) were grown from one three-leafed rhizome over one year. The four across the front are resting on the substrate tied to the lava rock, the rest are just jammed in the crevices.

Don't know why the photo looks so bad, but click on it to see the real thing.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 100_1415_195.jpg (69.3 KB, 89 views)
__________________
Sicklid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2007, 02:38 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,254
I think the forums is using some sort of PHP package to reduce the quality of the the thumbnails on this forum to provide lower bandwidth costs and faster load times. Personally I think the idea stinks as a thumbnail is supposed to give an indication of what a larger image looks like so you can know whether you want to see it. Still, it's not my bill to pay, so whatever keeps this forum going...
__________________

theotheragentm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2007, 04:16 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Kensington [Sydney], Australia
Posts: 141
Send a message via MSN to bra_van_drakh Send a message via Yahoo to bra_van_drakh
owkay. . .that's just incredibly great tank u have^^. . .all of the ferns look so fresh n large .. .thX for sharing that

are those 4 on the front just sitting there above the sand or buried ??? so is it okay just to bury the rhizomes under the gravel if they didn't float back ???
__________________
bra_van_drakh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2007, 02:24 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 305
If you plant the rhizome under the substrate it'll rot. However, I have several rhizome plants (java fern, anubias, bolbitis) "planted" in the substrate by their roots. I've done this with Eco, gravel and sand. I'm able to anchor just the roots in the substrate and keep the rhizome above the substrate. If you have enough roots on the java fern you could do this.
__________________
fish 'n' fries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2007, 10:15 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sicklid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Brandon, FL
Posts: 1,077
Quote:
Originally Posted by bra_van_drakh
owkay. . .that's just incredibly great tank u have^^. . .all of the ferns look so fresh n large .. .thX for sharing that

are those 4 on the front just sitting there above the sand or buried ??? so is it okay just to bury the rhizomes under the gravel if they didn't float back ???
Hey Bra, thanks for the compliments! I use dark brown cotton thread and tie several baby plantlets to a flat rock, preferably with some "rough tooth" to it so the thread wont slide around. The brown blends in with all the roots, and The rock is invisible once everyone grows out. All plants were grown from one rhizome in a tank with co2. The tank you see here is low tech with no co2. The original tank was a 2.5 gallon, they got huge! I had to transfer them to the 55.

The rock also acts as a weight to keep the ferns in place. The rock is just sitting on the sand with the rhizomes safely above.

The ones sitting on the boulders are also on small rocks, it really makes it easy to move and clean around them and to change the aquascape... If you want some babies, I am going to be clipping some off soon that already have roots. PM me...
__________________
Sicklid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2007, 03:58 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Kensington [Sydney], Australia
Posts: 141
Send a message via MSN to bra_van_drakh Send a message via Yahoo to bra_van_drakh
cant wait to see this little babies^^. . ..

so, if i could plant the roots down under by keeping the rhizomes up above the gravel. . .but i'll try to do it like that, tieing them to a small stone. . .thX sow much Sicklid^^
__________________

__________________
bra_van_drakh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
java, java fern

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mother Java Fern, Mother Narrow Leaf Java Fern, Other Java Ferns - Just Cover S/H Atl300zx Archive 18 12-18-2009 04:27 AM
FS: Plants-huge java fern, java moss JustOneMore20 Archive 2 03-17-2009 09:53 PM
Java Moss, Water Sprite, Java Fern shawnryan1977 Archive 1 06-13-2006 03:58 PM
Java Fern, Java Moss, Alage ball 4 sale shawnryan1977 Archive 2 06-10-2006 11:56 PM
Java Moss,Guppy Grass, Java Fern 4 sale shawnryan1977 Archive 3 04-13-2006 03:17 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.