Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-22-2011, 09:34 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Desastre's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 230
Lighting and Co2

I've done alot of reading but I'm still a bit uncertain. I have a 55 g tank with anubias, cryptos, java fern and still deciding on one last low light plant. My lighting is two t12 40w 6k I leave on 8 hrs a day with a one hour break in between. My filters are a aquaclear 50 and a penguin 150 from old tank to carry over beneficial bacteria. My substrate is sand.
My questions are
1. Their are mini co2 boosters on sale should I buy a couple or with my lighting and selection of plants I'm good.
2. I'm planning to have a good 20 fish mixed of cores mollys and platys so should I keep the penguin past a week.
3. Are my lights ok so I don't promote algae or starve my plants. I dont mind slow growth.
I dose with flourish excel ATM

Any feedback would be kewl

I also have 5 nerite snails and who knows how many trumpet snails under my sand doing their job since kuhli loaches are impossible to find I'n PR.

I had a houselight shining on the tank wife doing her hair. Lol
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-982629242.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	61.8 KB
ID:	37443  
__________________

__________________
Desastre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 09:37 AM   #2
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,409
Excel is a 'co2 booster' of sorts. It's a source of carbon. If you're dosing that, there's no need to waste money on any other 'carbon boosters'. I would suggest you get another AC50 though. I ran an ac50 on a 10g, and wouldn't recommend it for anything large than a 29g. Two would be ok for your tank though.
__________________

__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 10:18 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rich311k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 12,189
Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
With lighting and plant choices CO2 is not needed. The Excel will do the job. It looks to me like you are off to a fine start.
__________________
rich311k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 10:36 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Desastre's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 230
Thank you very much you guys just saved me a hundred dollars. Also now I don't have a glass top on my tank other then my DIY wood type with my lightbulbs. Are they any recommendations of what I should get to put over the tank that's cheaper then what's I'n lps I can get from home depot. And I probably won't need the carbon that comes with the aquaclear I read so what should I buy I'n it's replacement.
__________________
Desastre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 10:39 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rich311k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 12,189
Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
I run biomedia, sponges and filter floss in my AC filters. Do you want an open top on the tank? Egg crate can work or you can go topless. None of my tanks have tops.
__________________
rich311k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 10:41 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Desastre's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 230
Also sorry for so many questions I read not to replace anything on the aqua clears to just rinse them I'n the water from pwc that the whole changing them is just the company trying to rob u. Trying to figure out the truth of this.
__________________
Desastre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 10:43 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rich311k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 12,189
Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
Yes I never replace the sponges, I give them a good rinse in dechlorinated water and reuse. I have some sponges that are 5 years old. The floss I just throw out and replace monthly. There is no need to buy and replace media unless the media is falling apart.
__________________
rich311k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 10:45 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Desastre's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 230
Forever great money saving advice. Tyvm. I'll go from their. I'll post pics as my tank comes along.
__________________

__________________
Desastre is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
co2, light, lighting

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Co2 and lighting phatpaul Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 5 05-11-2011 07:12 AM
Will i need co2 for this lighting? bballsosh Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 11-24-2006 10:56 PM
CO2 and Low Lighting? jbarr Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 17 11-19-2006 10:29 PM
Lighting and CO2 blang Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 08-08-2005 09:23 AM
Lighting and CO2 ?? Grey Legion Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 5 04-20-2005 10:38 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.