Lighting and plant question.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Dxbeast8508

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hello everyone! I have a 36 gallon bow front and I have two T5 HO 6700k lights on it. I also have two amazon swords in it and two anubias. They are doing okay but could be better. I think I am also battling a algae bloom. None on the glass, just in the water. Slightly cloudy greenish tinted water. I do my weekly water changes so that helps keep it in check, but I want my water clearer and my plants to thrive. I just have regular gravel that the swords are in and the anubias are tied down on decor. I am not adding any fertilizers or root tabs. I have been trying to read about it in the forums but I can't find exactly what I need to read about. I having been reading about root tabs and fertilizers. However I am completely new to that stuff. I am so confused about the light issues with green water, I have seen stuff about co2, I didn't think I would need it with that considering my bulbs are only 18 watt each. Can anyone give me some tips about making my plants thrive and battle this bloom. I keep my lights on around 8-10 hours a day.

Green water generally indicates excess light. How long are the lights kept on? Does the tank also get light from a window? Does it ever run hot? Do you feed your fish heavily?
A sure fire solution to knocking out green water is by adding a UV sterilizer. Not the first solution I would try to use though.

CorallineAlgae said:
Green water generally indicates excess light. How long are the lights kept on? Does the tank also get light from a window? Does it ever run hot? Do you feed your fish heavily?
A sure fire solution to knocking out green water is by adding a UV sterilizer. Not the first solution I would try to use though.