Looking for input about plant issues.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Tellurye

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
https://imgur.com/a/Uj0Dk

Hi all!

Let me preface this by saying I'm totally new to the planted tank game. I have 6 other various tanks, ranging from 2.5 gallon to 75 gallons. Everything is cycled and well.

My dive into plants is with my 20 gallon long. I'm having issues with my red ludwigia in particular. Not sure if it's repens or not- bought it from Amazon listed as "deep red ludwigia." (?)

I have a Finnex Planted+ 30" on it, glass top, no CO2. I dose API Leaf Zone twice a week, Flourish Excel every morning. There's Flourish tabs, probably 8-9 of them, placed around plants in the gravel. Lights on 12 hours a day. Not much algae, but a little. I have Flourish Comprehensive, Iron, Potassium, and Phosphorus coming in the mail tomorrow.

I have 8 guppies, 3 cory cats, 9 cherry shrimp, and a mystery snail in there. A couple guppies came down with ich (I think I stressed the hell out of them replanting basically the entire tank) and I'm dosing 1/2 dose of Seachem Paraguard at the moment, right at lights out. I raised the temp from 76 to 80 on Wednesday.

I got the red Ludwigia ~2 weeks ago. It dropped quite a few leaves the first couple of days. It was about 12" tall, leggy, and green. No red really to speak of. I cut them all, cleaned them up a bit, and replanted them on Tuesday.

They're getting pretty dark and growing bushier. Great. But, one floated to the top tonight. When I grabbed it to place it back into the gravel, almost all the bottom leaves fell off and a few of the new little ones! I cut the stem and replanted what was left (first 2 pictures). I haven't noticed much leaf loss on the others, but God forbid I touch them to find out lol. Concerning.