Low tech lighting question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nanofish

Aquarium Advice Freak
Having finally decided on the plants I want in my low tech/ low light 29 gallon, I'm wondering if an increase in lighting would serve me better. If I ordered my plants right now they would be under a single 20w T8 6700k bulb. The plants I'm planning are Apogenton crispus, java fern, dwarf water lily, watersprite (floating), and a variety of crypts (wendtii, retrospiralis, undulata, possibly becketii).

I'm not planning to use CO2 since I'm just learning and would like one less thing to worry about. With that being the case should I stick with my current setup? Or should I see about getting a dual T8 fixture?

Since they're all low light plants, I'd just stick with the light you have. Usually a lot of light will need CO2 to fight off the algae that may grow. I'm no expert on planted tanks, but I keep plenty of low light plants in my 29gal tank with a 20w bulb and they do just fine.

Thanks. Growth is going to take me forever I guess since the only place I found some of those sells them without leaves. Guess I have to be patient.

What do you have in your 29 gallon? Just curious.

nanofish said:
Thanks. Growth is going to take me forever I guess since the only place I found some of those sells them without leaves. Guess I have to be patient.

What do you have in your 29 gallon? Just curious.

Try adding root tabs for your Crypts. I LOVE my Crypts.

A bunch of java ferns and anubia. I'm planning on putting some watersprite from my other tank in there once it grows a bit more. I really don't think increased light will really up the growth unless you're dosing ferts and CO2 though... Just seems like all it will do for you is increase your algae. But again, I'm no plant expert.

Try adding root tabs for your Crypts. I LOVE my Crypts.