Low Tech Planted Lighting Help!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

scottb

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hello all!
I am new to the planted tank hobby, but I am dedicated to having a planted tank due to its natural beauty :D. I am looking to replace my stock T8 17W bulb, for a completely different fixture. After some searching around, I have narrowed my choices down to two. Here are the links for the two fixtures (Let me know if the links are broken).

1. Coralife Aqualight T5HO Light

Coralife Aqualight High Output T5 Freshwater Aquarium Lighting Fixture 2X31W 30 inch Coralife T5 HO

2. Fishneedit.com fixture, found this site from threads started by members of this wonderful forum!

30in 2Bulbs fixtures

I have a 36g Bow Front, and will be replacing the stock hood for a Versa Top. Currently my tank has 3 Jungle Vals, 2 pieces of driftwood and 5 Harlequin Rasboras (doing a fish-in cycle). I plan to add a few more Jungle Val, 4 Small Amazon Swords, Java Fern for my pieces of driftwood, Dwarf Sag (6-8 stems), and some Crystalwort that I will float. Eventually I plan to add more plants in the future.

My question is what are your thoughts on the two fixtures I linked above. Also, they are both T5HO fixtures, but I know they offer different bulbs, both with different watts. Can I simply replace the bulbs, as long as they're the same wattage?

If anyone has purchased a fixture from fishneedit.com, anyone know what size bulb their 24" fixture takes? And what their 30" fixture fits?

My tank measures 31" long from frame to frame. Will a 24" fixture be too short? Would I be better off getting a 30" fixture which measures 30" in length?

Also, I am open to other suggestions on light fixtures, so feel free to recommend any. Although I am trying to keep it under $120.

Sorry for bombarding this thread with questions, what do you expect from a newbie :lol: