Multiple plant questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Tommy10

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I am new to plants and have committed to converting my 26 gallon Bowfront to plants. I have a couple new question.

I am going to buy 1 or 2 20lbs bags of Carib sea Eco complete- I'm wondering if its the right stuff and all I need, also if 1 or 2 bags are necessary?

I am going to buy a Hagen 15 watt flora glo fluorescent- is this enough? If not what do u suggest- without replacing the hood.

-what type of plants specifically would work for this set up? And for a beginner- I also am hoping to purchase some Malaysian driftwood to tie plants to or as decoration? Is this the right wood? If not what would you recommend?

-what chemicals or general maintenance items will I need? That are completely necessary?

Sorry for the hassle, hope I can receive some quality answers :) thanks in advance

Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice

Hi Tommy,

We have a 26g bow front at my parent's house. I'd say at least 2 bags of eco complete. You'd want at least 2 to 3" of substrate depth. Eco Complete is somewhat inert with only trace elements. So I'd recommend placing some flourish tabs throughout the substrate during initial setup. After a while, the highly porous nature of EC will absorb nutrients via fertilizer dosing and fish waste. EC has a high CEC (cation exchange capacity) which allows it to become more fertile overtime.