My very first dirt planted tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

musicmarn1

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hey guys,

aquascaping was harder than i realized ! so be gentle with me this is my first attempt at a dirt planted tank and my new 55g , got more plants to put in but this is it so far.

Just running one canister filter for the beta thought it still might be too much for him but he seems to be so happy actually, the tank was cycled before i planted, bacterially so now im doing heavy water changes for the
excess nutrients

i know ill get some major melting of the crypts and possibly a few others so im ready, got my new lights coming a 4 x finnex hood with two t5 ho and ill add two pink bulbs i think to replace the actinic that come as standard.

Any feedback or suggestions on arrangement is great, its a LOT of fun but phew it was hard to decide where to put all the plants i didnt realize how mucky it would get whilst doing it. :dance:

Attachments

• 55gplantedirttank.jpg
    55gplantedirttank.jpg
    199.7 KB · Views: 88
  • beta55g.jpg
    beta55g.jpg
    223.4 KB · Views: 76
  • 55g day 7.jpg
    55g day 7.jpg
    232.1 KB · Views: 76
Looks good!! Is that watersprite that is bunched together in the middle left of the tank? If so you might want to separate it and plant them individually. They will bush out, and get tall. I have to trim mine every week:lol:

Water sprite

Looks good!! Is that watersprite that is bunched together in the middle left of the tank? If so you might want to separate it and plant them individually. They will bush out, and get tall. I have to trim mine every week:lol:

Thanks! I wasn't sure WHAT.that was, was trying to I'd it, got a pick and mix from aquabid.

Doesn't have roots yet so was thinking of leaving it bunched until they come in? Or I can spread it out and replant now, thanks again