Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-12-2014, 09:49 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
toaduck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 101
Need advice on already planted and stocked sand substrate. Do I need to change?

I have a 20 gallon long with sand only. I have a java fern, crypts, water wisteria planted, and some Anubia.

I'm wanting to step it up to the next level so am planning to get some dwarf sag, or styrogyne rapens for a carpet. I'll also add other root feeders also.

I'm dosing pps ferts and injecting co2. I also have 2 sat+ led fixtures. On paper these lights put out 36 par per light. Combined for 60 -70 together I'm assuming.

Am I just going to be wasting my time trying to get them to grow in this inert sand substrate or will root tabs be enough plus the pps ferts. I'd rather find out now and go ahead and redo the substrate than find out later.
__________________

__________________
toaduck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2014, 09:51 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
icydeath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Folsom, CA
Posts: 1,294
I think it would be fine. Especially for low to medium maintenance plants. Plus I find root tabs to be very effective.
__________________

__________________
icydeath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2014, 10:00 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Rossvilla, GA
Posts: 45
As long as you dose ferts and add root tabs, you should be fine, as stated above.
__________________
LeviRH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2014, 10:14 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
toaduck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeviRH View Post
As long as you dose ferts and add root tabs, you should be fine, as stated above.
How many and at what rate per inched per say do you put root tabs in. I use the diy osmicote plus capsules

Also are there any carpeting plants that would be particularly better in sand. Gosh I'd love to do hc, but I'm afraid of how it'd do in the sand.
__________________
toaduck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 12:40 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Rossvilla, GA
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by toaduck View Post
How many and at what rate per inched per say do you put root tabs in. I use the diy osmicote plus capsules

Also are there any carpeting plants that would be particularly better in sand. Gosh I'd love to do hc, but I'm afraid of how it'd do in the sand.

With the tabs, I normally put in one or two, just break them into 4 pieces, and stick them in my substrate about 2-3 inches away from my root feeders.

I also used Osmocote Plus in the past, and it works pretty well. Doesn't seem to last as long as is says. I would suggest using less fertilizer at the start, and build up to using more over time. Makes it easier to identify nutrient deficiencies that way, too. They'll tell you what they need.

I am also dosing FlorinMulti roughly 2-3 ml once a week. I love it.

For the carpet, dwarf Sag, and Baby Tears both work pretty well with good lighting.
__________________
LeviRH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 09:03 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 12,863
Do the star repens as a carpet. Easy to trim, roots well (produces extensive roots). Regular trimming promotes growth and thickness of the carpet. Appreciates substrate and water column ferts, CO2 and decent lighting.
I did dwarf sag but could not keep it low and could not get the density I wanted.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2014, 05:15 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Kristian Tombs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 379
Staurogyne repens can also be trimmed too make a good carpet.
__________________

__________________
Kristian Tombs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
advice, ate, change, plant, planted, sand, sand substrate, stock, substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So this is my first tank, have I over stocked it already? AMC Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 1 03-12-2013 09:22 PM
Which fish for my already stocked 29 gallon bobzond Cichlid Discussion 8 11-26-2012 06:32 PM
Fully stocked or under stocked? fddlss Cichlid Discussion 8 05-12-2011 10:58 AM
Lots of Brown Algae. I'd like to add some fish to help, but am I already stocked? mandy2936 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 14 10-30-2010 12:11 PM
New planted 25g already having issues, need advice please Kilgore Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 9 02-23-2006 09:04 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.