Need help choosing CO2 system (what does the solenoid do?)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bs6749

Aquarium Advice Addict
Hey guys, I will be purchasing (hopefully) a CO2 setup for my new 125 gallon tank and I need help choosing a CO2 system. I want to use a paintball canister to run the CO2 out of it so I decided to go with a setup from RedSea but I'm not sure which one to go with to be honest. I have no experience with CO2 systems or contained air for that matter and I don't know what the solenoid does and if I actually "need" one or "SHOULD" have one. I would like your expert opinions on the matter. Here are the two systems that I am debating between:

Without solenoid: http://www.bigalsonline.com/BigAlsUS/ctl3684/cp18478/si1431675/cl0/redseaco2prosystempaintball

With solenoid: http://www.bigalsonline.com/BigAlsU...l0/redseaco2prosystempaintballdeluxewsolenoid

I found the one w/o the solenoid for ~$110 and the one WITH the solenoid for ~$150 so hopefully BigAls will live up to its price matching guarantee and deliver a good deal for me.

If anyone has any setup in mind that is better/cheaper feel free to send a link to it as it would help me out greatly. Have a nice day all!

EDIT: I keep forgetting CO2 is in liquid form in the canister and not gas form. Seems like a solenoid controls the flow of fluids???

I think you're going to want to go with a bigger system for that size tank. You'll empty a paintball canister very, very quickly.

The Solenoid allows you to hook the system up on a timer. With no power going to the solenoid, no CO2 will flow. once power is applied, the flow starts and is controlled via the bubble counters.