New Planted Tank - Couple of Questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dinokath

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi all,

I am new to planted tanks after having done fish only tanks for about 20 years. I had a bacterial bloom last month (never had one before, it freaked me out) and started doing a lot of reading. It piqued my interest in the hobby again and raised my interest in doing a planted tank. I have done A LOT of reading over the last month and have read a lot of contradicting information, talked to my LFS and joined a couple forums and asked questions (this one is the best, so here I am). I think I have read almost everything there is on water quality, water chemistry and other related information. Needless to say, I am informed but confused.

I have purchased pressurized CO2 with a pH monitor, Eco-complete and have a T5HO 2x54 on the way. My tank is a standard 55 gallon. I am using a Magnum 350 for full time mechanical and biological filtration (I removed the carbon and am using ceramic media for the bio-filter and removed the bio-wheels to minimize surface agitation and CO2 loss) and a Magnum HOT for water polishing and crushed coral distribution. My KH is about 3 from the tap, GH is about 4 and all my reading leads me to believe my GH is good and KH needs boosting in order to have good quality for the plants and proper buffering for the pH and CO2.

Based on my research, I will have right at 2 watts per gallon of light. Also, based on my research, T5HO light is more efficient light than standard T12 lighting and the 'watt per gallon' rule doesn't really apply to T5HO lighting.

My questions are:

- will my T5HO lighting be enough to keep my plants alive and thriving?
- do I need to worry about KH of 3? pH is sitting around 7.4 right now. I need to drop pH down to 6.8, with CO2, in order to get proper CO2 levels.
- is the GH good?