Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 02-07-2004, 12:54 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist

New to heavily planted tanks - need advice

I am planning on setting up a 10 gallon heavily planted tank. I already have the 55 with some plants and fish so I am not a newbie. I need an advice on properly setting up this one so any input and help will be appreciated. I currently have:
1. The tank and DIY stand
2. Glass top, incandescent strip where I will put 2 CF bulbs at 5000K with total wattage not to exceed 25 watts. (probably will use single 23W CF maybe)
3. Eco-Complete substrate (25 lbs)

I need an advice on filtration. I know I do not need surface agitation so I was wondering that canister, even the smallest one, will be at least 125GPH. My good LFS recommended setting a big sponge with powerhead and that is it. What do you guys think? I will have maybe some cardinal tetras, couple of corys or something, so it will have fish.
I do not have any CO system of any kind so I will try without one and see how that goes.

Please advise.

- 2 Otocinclus Cats.
- 3 Spotted Corys (Corydoras agassizi)
- 4 Clown Loaches
- 2 Rosy Barbs
captainGregor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2004, 02:22 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Hiya Capt. I'm trying to picture a big sponge in a 10g tank. The image doesn't seem so appealing to me (LOL). Perhaps a small corner sponge with a powerhead. But, if it were me I'd try using the cannister.

What plants are you going to try and grow?
Old 02-07-2004, 05:16 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist