New to plants

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Rivers2k

Aquarium Advice Addict
As the title says I am new to plants. I have had tanks a very long time and appreciate planted tanks but never got into doing one myself.

I was thinking about getting an annubias for my tank. Not doing a full planted tank just want one or two for my central american cichlid tank. I have read that anubias or java fern are the only thing Rainbows Cichlids and Severum wont eat. What are you thoughts on this? Any experience keeping annubias with these fish?

About a month ago I put a new piece of driftwood in that is leaching a little bit of tanins not allot but a little and I do weekly water changes. How do tannins effect plants do they like it, or hate it? Will plants help clear the tannins?

I was hoping to attache the plants to either end of the drift wood can I slip the roots into the crevices or will I have to tie it down? The piece of wood front center is what I was thinking. I would like to put anubias on the far right side. and at the top. or since its higher and closer to the light is there something else I should put up there. keeping in mind it has to be severum safe :)

Thanks all.

First off I'm glad your trying some plants! It brings a wonderful Element into your tank with a bunch of pluses!! Anubias are great plants as they produces a tom of hiding places and shade. Also you can tie them down to your driftwood or plant them ( just make SURE THE RHIZOME is above the sand as the captures the light!)

40 gallon
1x leopard ctenopoma
1x albino bichir
1x tiger pleco
With live plants in the tank

75 gallon native tank
5 pumpkin seed sunfish
1 red crayfish
1 spotted bass

I successfully kept anachris in with these two big guys:

Attachments

• big guys.jpg
    big guys.jpg
    77.4 KB · Views: 90