Newbie/Is This a Good Deal?/Advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

RanchuHappy2Cme

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello,

I'm very new to aquarium stuff, but what I have been doing so far has really peaked my interest and has been very beneficial to some mental health problems for me.

It started when my roommate moved back to her home state and couldn't take her Betta with her because she was afraid it would die so I agreed to take care of it. Never really thought of myself as a fish guy. However I've grown pretty attached to him over the last 5 months I've had him. He started in a cheap plastic 2 gallon tank that he didn't have much room to swim in and algae always bloomed so I was constantly having to clean his tank which was stressing him out and I felt bad. Went to get him a 5g tank but found out for an extra dollar at Walmart I could get him a 10g with a filter/LED hood. Since then he has been super happy and I just love sitting by his tank and watching him dart around his new home. Although his water is a little cloudy at the moment (although I heard it might be because I just did my first water change where I left 50% of the original water in because I read it's bad to change all the water). Anyways, this has sparked a huge interest in me for bigger tanks and variety. I've been doing research and I like the idea of a fancy goldfish tank, especially Ranchu.