Newbie needs some help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TJs

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi all and thanks in advance for any ideas and advice. I will start by saying that I have been in the fish hobby for a few years now so I have plenty of knowledge about keeping fish but always trying to learn more. My newest venture will be planted with fish. I have a 150 gallon I will be cycling in the next few weeks and I want to make a beautiful, planted show tank. The problem is, and the reason I'm reaching out to you all is, I have no experience with plants. I am basically going into this with the aquarium and filtration(Fx5 and the Ehiem 2260, is the filtration I will use on this tank). I will need to get the lighting still, which I'm not sure of exactly what I need. I know I want at least medium light plants (again something that will be beautiful maybe even with color) so I want some lighting that will handle anything.

I accidentally hit send. Anyways to sum it up... I need help with substrait, lighting and really everything. I plan on CO2 but again I don't know much about this so please help with anything you can. Thanks!!!

I run a 220g 100% planted tank and you can view it in it's various stages at the link in my signature in the bottom of this post.

You'll have to see if the FX5 puts out too much flow for the plants but you can deal with that later. I run 3 Fluval 406's but used to run 4 of them.