Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-28-2007, 08:12 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sicklid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Brandon, FL
Posts: 1,077
Nutrients availability to plants/algae.

Seems like a dumb question, but this keeps coming into my little brain whenever I read about plant uptake of nutrients and out-competing algae... If we are not supposed to allow nutrient levels to bottom out, as in, we keep a certain level available at ALL TIMES to our plants, why is it that if the nutrients are ALWAYS present they are not ALWAYS available to algae as well?
__________________

__________________
Sicklid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 08:28 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Memphis,Tn US
Posts: 447
They are. However, NPK and CO2 all being abundant makes a highly UNfavorable growing environment for algaes. Algaes grow best when there is a lack of one or more macronutrients.
__________________

__________________
Hoovercat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 08:38 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 284
Really?

Why is that?
Both use the same nutrients.

The issue is an ecological issue, not a competition.
If you add fresh well growing algae and plants in equal amounts, the algae will grow as well.

What occurs is germination of algae spores in our tanks in response to a parameter, Typically CO2/NH4. Does not take that much and more light means it'll happen faster and be more sensitive.

Once there are adult algae then it's tough to get rid of it.
The key in new growth.

Stop that, and you stop algae.
We do not raise plants from seed, algae produces lots of spores and they run through various sexual cycles in our tanks.

Plants do not.

We add lots of plant biomass, produce them vegetatively, algae are induced to grow using NH4/CO2 variations.

I think folks like to use the word phrase "out compete" without considering what that means.

Many folks use that phrase for some reason.........

When the levels of CO2 are good, the NH4 uptake is rapid and O2 levels are also high, so the plants control the environment, not the other way around..........at least when you have enough plant biomass and feed them well so they can maintain a good growth rates/uptake of NH4.

Both algae and plants can and do use NO3..........but that does not induce/germinate algae blooms...........



Regards,
Tom Barr
__________________
Plantbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
algae, plant, plants

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
most amount of nutrients used by plants recorded timwag2001 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 0 04-30-2009 06:26 AM
Does activated carbon take nutrients away from my plants? gfink Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 07-08-2005 10:51 PM
holes in plants - loaches or nutrients? tetrin Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 9 07-07-2005 09:39 AM
outcompeting algae for nutrients? Talon242 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 1 07-14-2004 09:57 PM
No nutrients but still got algae Joshsmit56001 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 04-10-2004 11:17 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.